When Batman Was a Kid by Phoenix

Courage and heart …

Legacy Initiative: Not all heroes wear a cape

This is a piece I wrote while working with the HOST program via Legacy, a program that seeks to alleviate homelessness by working with low-risk people to get them jobs, housing, clothes, etc. I was talking with my friend Tracy for the first time, and he shared a story about a little kid and his Batman existence. I was so touched by the story that I committed all the details to memory and went straight home after HOST, to write up this piece. I think this is a milestone piece for me, in terms of understanding complex issues of our existence, of homelessness, of compassion and loyalty, of what makes us human, and even though I’ve come a long way since growing with Legacy, this piece and the insights of the piece are what set things in motion for me, and started to give me a new hope. Enjoy …

View original post 1,623 more words

Leave a Reply

