Beauty (from Separation: Healing)

This is a poem from my poetry collection Separation: Healing, a collection of experimental poetry. Enjoy.

Phoenix

 

Beauty

 

[sometimes] moments slip by

I can’t touch

the beautiful [object] of desire

 

I can only

speculate conjecture

think through

and wonder

 

because it’s too hard

and I can’t touch it [feelings]

I can only misunderstand

 

but even that

I mistranslate

because I can’t explain it

or understand it

 

we usually want a complex answer

but beauty will always

be simple

 

I find the aesthetic

to be aerial

smooth and careful

 

jagged only upon reflection [truth]

do you dream [or] do you merely

[dream]

 

I long for the days

when I was [pure] maybe just [real]

I can’t let go of my soul

I can only

 

[feel]

 

empathize with the beautiful [and true]

 

but even that is too hard at times

as there is so much

I can’t see

 

but all of that

[it gives me a] drive to push

forward and [and] keep trying

I don’t give up because

[I’m … beautiful …]

I’m (a) Phoenix

 

and I dream

 

and because

I tell you

 

the truth.

 

You’re beautiful too.

 

 

Leave a Reply

