Theory Versus Practice (YouTube Video)

I made a YouTube video detailing the split between theory and practice that I experience in my day to day life as a writer and thinker, and reference philosophers that talk about the split, such as William James, the American pragmatist. James identified the need to merge theory and practice, as philosophy has become disembodied theory, which should not be the case practically speaking. But as a writer, I often encounter the tension between theory and practice, and wonder if my ideas are simply irrelevant theory. I use an analogy to the winners of the Nobel Prize in physics of 2016, and how I feel stifled in that they can apply topology and theoretical physics in pragmatic ways even though it is still theory. This and other concerns, the good news being that as a theorist and writer, I see possibility …

Enjoy.

Phoenix

Leave a Reply

