An Excerpt from The Street Kid

One of the best passages I’ve ever composed, from my published book The Street Kid. Find it here: https://www.amazon.com/Street-Kid-Phoenix/dp/1508524300/ref=la_B00QEL41LS_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1477431688&sr=1-2

So. I’m super stoked to share a preview from my up-and-coming autofiction The Street Kid, which I hope to release some time early this summer.

I personally really dig this little part I’m going to share. It was, indeed, a real experience, filtered through my delusion, and filtered through a little bit of fiction, and structural and narrative invention (at one point I completely dispense of punctuation): But the thoughts, for the most part, I really experienced, and the events I also experienced as well.

In the excerpt, you’ll see Phoenix as a twenty-one-year-old in all of his confusion, neuroticism, psychological pain, enthusiasm, and passion; if I understand this part of my life/history correctly, what I see is a very vulnerable kid just a couple years out of teenage-hood, but with an explosive imagination and a free-spirited punk attitude, exemplified by such comments and attitudes as he’s in jail for…

View original post 2,065 more words

Leave a Reply

