Death Be Not Proud by Phoenix

Death be not proud …

Legacy Initiative: Not all heroes wear a cape

Death Be Not Proud Photo 2

Death, be not proud, though some have called thee
mighty and dreadful, for thou art not so:
for those whom thou think’st thou does overthrow
die not, poor Death: not yet canst thou kill me …

—John Donne

It is super cold. I’m walking in the snow, at a vigil for homeless folks who have lost their lives due to their harsh and unforgiving circumstances and living conditions. I’m cold and shivering, because I am walking in ankle-deep snow, and my shoes are getting soaked, caked with ice, making my feet frozen and stiff, as cold winds brush against my face. But I am here tonight to honor those who I love, respect, care for, and admire, for their strength and resilience.

I have never gone to a vigil before, but I am already humbled to be here, and the harsh reality of homelessness and homelessness as an unfair death…

View original post 1,374 more words

Leave a Reply

