Realism by Phoenix

Truth.

Legacy Initiative: Not all heroes wear a cape

Often times, this cruel world wants to push us to be “realists.” Meaning, “it is what it is,” or, “I accept reality at face value,” or, “it’s black and white.” Recently, this term “realism” was used pejoratively against me, meaning, they were saying that “I don’t see reality as it actually is.” They were implying everything from I live in a fantasy world to I don’t confront reality as it actually is due to inherent weakness.

But, as a metaphysician, while I acknowledge that some things in this existence are “fixed” (just think of Bertrand Russell’s “facts”), not everything is so set in stone. So many mediums and avenues provide a nuance and richness to our lives, from subjectivity itself to the flexibility of the world as it appears and as it actually is (noumena versus phenomena, Kantian idealism).

I mention this because, I am not a realist. I am…

View original post 510 more words

Leave a Reply

